Road to Success – Get Back on Track

“Life always provides us with opportunities for self-correction.”

As I prepared to start my blog writing workshop I found the above quote by Iyanla Vanzant on my facebook feed. It is the truth.

I had fallen off my plan to write weekly blogs just about the time my aunt died just short of her 100th birthday in May.

In July I took the mid- year evaluation  of myself.

Did I start doing the uncomfortable? Yes

Was I being persistent at it? NO

Truth is the first obstacle in the way or the first excuse we fall back into the comfortable. This blog writing was definitely the uncomfortable. As I thought about starting up comes one of my Linkedin groups with the idea of a blog writing workshop for people who had such a challenge. It was just an idea she had without even a clear plan of how to do it. I didn’t need much convincing to be a part of it.

So I have settled down to continue my ‘Road to Success” series.

Also on my facebook feed today is this status update from “Think and Grow Rich” page:

“Nothing in this world can take the place of persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful people with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and determination alone are omnipotent. The slogan “press on” has solved and always will solve the problems of the human race” – Calvin Coolidge

Its persistence and determination, no lesser stuff than that. It’s what a Usain Bolt would have used to overcome a set back like losing to Yohan Blake in the Jamaica trials and to go on to win Olympic gold in London Olympics 2012.

Are you on track with your 2012 goals?

Take time to evaluate. Celebrate the success so far and fix what’s going off track.

Love to hear from you. Please leave your comments below

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Road to Success – Get Back on Track”

  1. Jennifer Stuart says :

    I have not had concrete goals for 2012 other than to become a better writer. I do believe that I have succeeded at not quitting the process of doing that. But I know that even if my book gets published or my blog gets popular, I will still only feel as good as I let myself feel. I feel that I have learned an immense amount of information implicitly this year..and I am very proud of it!
    I also quit smoking cigarettes! 🙂
    Good luck with your workshop, what a great thing to do.

    • Kathleen says :

      Hi Jennifer,
      Thanks for the encouragement and congrats on quitting. I did write a few posts in that sitting. The plan is to do a few more sessions so i don’t run out of posts when the time comes around to update.

Leave a Reply

